Costa Rica is located in the Tropical Zone, between the Tropic of Cancer and the Tropic of Capricorn.

The location of our country in this region creates several characteristics typical of tropical environments: forests, hydrographic networks, soils and climate. The flora and fauna that adapt to these conditions are considered tropical.

In general, the climate is characterized by warm temperatures and abundant rainfall during a large part of the year.

The influence of the Caribbean Sea and the Pacific Ocean, located to the east and west, respectively, as well as the small size of our country, ensures that the majority of climatic elements do not cause great change in weather throughout the year, as can occur on larger continental land masses.

There are three main climates in Costa Rica:

Warm and Humid Climate (Tropical Wet)

Includes the areas of Valle de El General, Coto Brus, and the region surrounding the Golfo Dulce (Sweet Gulf).

Warm and Dry Climate (Tropical with a Dry Season)

Present along the plains of Guanacaste, the Nicoya Peninsula and the Central Valley.

Cool and Dry Climate (Temperate)

Located only in areas above 1,500 meters (4,920 feet), in some valleys and western slopes of the Central Volcanic Mountain Range and the Talamanca Mountain Range.


The most important annual variation in weather corresponds to rain, and this is mainly due to the interaction that develops between different wind systems that affect us and the country’s topography.

In general, there is a dry season that lasts from December through April, and a rainy season between May and November.